Distinguished & Honorary Members


The U.S. Army’s Distinguished Member of the Regiment (DMOR) program is governed by Army Regulation 600-82. Each regiment has appointed by the Secretary of the Army an Honorary Colonel of the Regiment (HCOR) and Honorary Sergeant Major of the Regiment (HSMOR) to administer the program. Their primary duty is to receive and vet nominations for Distinguished Member of the Regiment (DMOR) and Honorary Member of the Regiment (HMOR) on an annual basis.

DMORs are individuals who have served with the regiment on Active Army or in the Army Reserve and who have distinguished themselves through their military service, civilian service, or other significant service rendered for the betterment of their community, state, or nation. The designation is bestowed on these individuals by the Secretary of the Army after a thorough vetting process by the HCOR, HSMOR, and the active duty battalion commander designated to administer regimental responsibilities.

HMORs are soldiers, their spouses, and other individuals who have made a significant contributions, or provided an important service, to the Regiment, but who have never been formally assigned members of the Regiment. One does not have to be an Association member to be eligible for this honor.

This year, on behalf of the 500 members of the 16th Infantry Regiment Association, the Governing Board has nominated 5 outstanding former Rangers for designation as Distinguished Members of the Regiment (DMOR) for 2016. The Board also nominated 2 superb supporters of the 16th Infantry as Honorary Members of the Regiment (HMOR).

The nominations for 2017 are:


LTC (R) Smith Devoe (2-16 IN VN), Association Nominee
1SG (R) Ted A. Baer (5-16 IN DS), Ed Walding, Nominator
1SG Roy J. Clark (2-16 IN GWOT) MAJ Steven A. Eaton, Nominator
SSG Christopher M. Coughlin (1-16 IN, Iraq), Ken Costich, Nominator
William D. Derrig (5-16 IN, DS), Bennett Dickson, Nominator
Robert Youngberg (1-16 IN, VN), Association Nominee
SFC (R) Edward Walding (5-16 IN, DS), Association Nominee
SGT (R) Jose Garcia (1-16 IN, VN), Greg Murry, Nominator
BG Frederick Gibb (posthumous-WWII Regimental Commander), Association Nominee


Fred Tolson, Association Technical Webmaster, Association Nominee
Ian Malugani, Commander, Easy Company (UK WWII Living History Group), Association Nominee
Jennifer Jergens, Spouse, SGT Bryan Jergens, Doug Meeks, Nominator
Nancy Dignan, Spouse of Don Dignan; Ron Saxton, Nominator

The links below provide a listing of all of the regiment’s HCORs, HSMORs, DMORs, and HMORs to date, as well as a blank nomination form and instructions for use in submitting nomination packets to the Honorary Colonel. Packets are typically due no later that 15 January of the year of nomination.



DMOR/HMOR Nomination Form & Instructions